what we do

We help aspiring screenwriters share their stories with the world.

After years of professional screenwriting and teaching, John realized that there were little to no affordable, accessible resources for aspiring screenwriters. And so he decided to create his own.

Why we do it

Young Screenwriters is the go-to resource for aspiring screenwriters.

The world is a better place when more people are empowered to share their stories. And so, our mission is to inspire, enrich, and foster the next generation of storytellers.

It is our priority to ensure that all of our resources are accessible and affordable to everyone.

Our guiding principles

Accessible. We want as many people to be able to enjoy screenwriting as possible. So, all our content is [CC] close-captioned, available online, and always affordable.

Professional. Even though our material is appropriate for screenwriters who are 12 and up, we always treat our students as adults. No material is ever watered down.

Succinct. It’s the screenwriting rule: less is more. We know you don’t come here to hear us talk, so we keep all videos to-the-point.

Meet the Team

John Warren

John Warren

Professor

john@youngscreenwriters.com

Adam Schaller

Adam Schaller

Editor & Head of Feedback

adam@youngscreenwriters.com

Alexie Basil

Alexie Basil

Director

alexie@youngscreenwriters.com

Mulan Fu

Mulan Fu

Illustrator

mulan@youngscreenwriters.com

Carl Agner

Carl Agner

Operations

carl@youngscreenwriters.com

Elise

Elise

Intern

elise@youngscreenwriters.com

Ready to get started?

CHeck out

“writing the short”