About Young Screenwriters

What We Do

Join a community of more than 30,000 writers from 170 countries.

We help aspiring screenwriters get their stories on the page so they can share it with the world.

Why We Do It

Because we love it.

Empowering people to tell their stories matters to us.

The world is a better place when more people are empowered to share their stories.

It is our priority to ensure that all of our resources are accessible and affordable to everyone.

Meet the Team

John Warren

John Warren

Professor

john@youngscreenwriters.com

Alexie Basil

Alexie Basil

Director / Communication

alexie@youngscreenwriters.com

Adam Schaller

Adam Schaller

Director / Feedback

adam@youngscreenwriters.com

Carl Agner

Carl Agner

Development / Operations

carl@youngscreenwriters.com

Theo Luoma

Theo Luoma

Marketing

theo@youngscreenwriters.com

Mulan Fu

Mulan Fu

Illustration

mulan@youngscreenwriters.com

Our Origin Story

From 2012 to 2016, John was Alexie's professor at NYU Tisch Film. Being from Ohio and Kentucky respectively, we bonded over how hard it was to access material about screenwriting before moving to New York City.

So, we decided to do something about it.

With Carl's help, John and Alexie shot our first course, Writing the Short, in John's office. Adam edited it. And then, when the pandemic hit, we decided to release the course for free. One viral post on Reddit and an article on No Film School later, we had more than 20,000 students overnight.

Since then, Young Screenwriters has continued to grow. We remain dedicated to our mission of sharing this artform we love with others and helping writers everywhere tell their stories.

 

Our Guiding Principles

Accessible. We want as many people to be able to enjoy screenwriting as possible. So, all our content is [CC] close-captioned, available online, and always affordable.

Professional. Even though our courses are appropriate for screenwriters who are 12 and up, we always treat our students as adults. No material is ever watered down.

Succinct. It's the screenwriting rule: less is more. We know you don't come here to hear us talk, so we keep all videos to-the-point.